All The Single Ladies

My single moms group has a fierce game of loving on people who are in need, or who are going through tough times.

The morning of the fire, I got a text from my friend, Dana saying that she had the perfect Saturday night, just chilling with another friend and I eating pizza and enjoying a glass of wine.

I had to text back that I had a great night, too…up until 12:30. And then I told her about the fire.

What a weird text to type.

Anyway, she along with a few other single moms from our group, got to work. They went to Target and bought a bunch of stuff they knew I’d need. They got underwear, socks, toothpaste, toothbrushes, deodorant, a razor, shampoo and conditioner, yoga pants, tank tops, dress shirts, and sweaters. They also got me a jean jacket. They got me a gift card to Starbucks (It’s all gone, by the way! Man, did I need that!) The only thing I might add that they didn’t think of, is a pair of tweezers. I have a few stray eyebrows that are super bothering me. I now had the means to get presentable and some outfits to wear to work the next day.

They threw in some extra goodies too, like wine, (along with a corkscrew) toilet paper, and paper towels. These guys are good people. I love my little tribe.

Then, to top it all off, they collected even more money and gave it to me at our Wednesday night meeting. These women, the ones with only one income, and who have so many obligations on which they need to spend that money, chose to give it instead. They are living out the Bible. They are the woman who put two coins in the offering.

So thank you ladies, you touch me and you inspire me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

