A Miracle

I had eaten dinner at a friend’s house that night. When I came home, I had a few things to discuss with my parents, so I came downstairs to the family room where they were watching TV. It was a pretty chilly spring day, so the gas fireplace was on and it was a comfortable place to be. That’s what I love about┬áthe family room downstairs, it’s such a comfortable room.

It began to get late and my parents headed to bed. I stayed downstairs half-way listening to SNL, while working on a few things on my computer. Around 11:30 I decided to head upstairs and go to bed myself. I turned the switch to the fireplace off, shut off the light, and started up to bed.

I took my time getting ready to bed because it felt like one of those nights that sleep would be hard to find. I laid in bed going over the events of the day.

Around 12:30, I heard my dad yelling. I made out the word FIRE. At first,┬áthe pain in his voice made me think that he was on fire, and that didn’t make any sense at all. I jumped out of bed and ran into the hall.

That’s when I heard him say that there was a fire outside on the deck.

WHAT?

Sure enough, running around to the living room, I could see flames licking up the side of the house, and busting through the sun-room’s window.

I don’t know what made my dad turn over in his bed and see the flames out the window, but I am pretty sure it was a miracle.

One thought on “A Miracle

  1. Jennifer, thank you so much for sharing this stark and touching personal perspective on a near disaster.
    In the Navy our sistership had a fire on it. One of the brothers over there had been given a verse from Isaiah (43:2) “… when you walk through the fire you will not be burned.”
    He was saved but many died that day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

